The National Society of High School ScholarsNSHSS

Learn. Lead. Change the World.

Among the education stars recognized as Educators of Distinction, a few shine bright above the rest.  In 2011, NSHSS established the Claes Nobel Educator of the Year Award to spotlight their accomplishments.  According to Mr. Nobel, NSHSS co-founder and senior member of the family that established the Nobel Prizes, “The Claes Nobel Educator of the Year program embraces my family’s tradition of recognizing world class minds and supports the vision of NSHSS to help students build on academic success and grow the skills and desire to have a positive impact in the global community.”

Each year, Claes Nobel Educators of Distinction are invited to apply for the Educator of the Year award, which is presented at the NSHSS annual holiday member event held at The Carter Presidential Center in Atlanta, Georgia.  Educators of Distinction will be invited annually to apply for the award.


2015 Top Educator of the Year Brian Rodriguez Alameda Science & Technology Institute Alameda, California
Thelvie Cullins, Jr. School for the Talented and Gifted at Townview Magnet Center Dallas, Texas
Antonios Ekatomatis

Montgomery Blair High School

Silver Spring, Maryland
Jessie Good Kohler High School Kohler, WI
Michael Lindblad Gresham High School Gresham, Oregon
Vicki McGuigan The Bronx High School of Science Bronx, New York
Marc Pedersen Paulding County High School Dallas, Georgia
Gary Piercey Francis Tuttle Technology Center Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Wendy Wooten Reseda High School Reseda, California
James Young, Jr. Battle Creek Central High School Battle Creek, Michigan


2015 Top Educator of the Year Jody Zepp Long Reach High School Columbia, MD
Jennifer Cullison Woodland High School                 Woodland, WA
Cindy Cunningham

Appomattox Regional Governor's School
the Arts and Technology

Petersburg, VA
Dana Krejcarek Kohler High School Kohler, WI
Marni Landry
Paradise Valley High School Phoenix, AZ
Stergios Lazos St. Edward High School Lakewood, OH
Margaret Mitchell
Ridge High School Basking Ridge, NJ
Regina O'Neal Baltimore Polytechnic Institute East Boston, MA
Mary Katherine Parson Little Rock Central High School Little Rock, AK
Samuel Saenz East Early College High School Houston, TX


2014 Top Educator of the Year Eric Thiel Amador Valley High Pleasanton, CA
Amy Baker Frenship High School Wolfforth, TX
Kenneth Bernstein Cantonsville High School Cantonsville, MD
John Carnesecca Great Oaks High School Temecula, CA
Ana Castro DuPont Manual High School Louisville, KY
Ronald Hamme Upper Dauphin Area High School Elizabethville, PA
Michael Madden William P. Clements High School Sugar Land, TX
Audrey Schindler McDonald East Boston High School East Boston, MA
Shane Scott Jerusalem School Jerusalem
Erin Smith Spring Ridge Academy Spring Valley, AZ


2013 Top Educator of the Year Brian McDonald Charles E. Jordan High School Durham, NC
Erin Johnston South Caldwell High School Hudson, NC
Dana Kling  Brookwood High School Snellville, GA
Dr. Teresita Lemus John A. Ferguson Senior High Miami, FL
Susan New  Trinity High School Euless, TX
David Quinn Edmonds-WoodwayHigh School Edmonds, WA
Laurel Spradley Earl Warren High School San Antonio, TX
Camilla Walck Princess Anne High School Virginia Beach, VA
David Williams  Valley View High School Moreno Valley, CA
Glenn Yamasaki Warren High School Downey, CA


2012 Top Educator of the Year Patricia Wilson Bloomington High School North Bloomington, IN
James Brooks West Wilkes High School Millers Creek, NC
Beth Bynarowicz Legacy High School Broomfield, CO
Lewis Cobbs Randolph School Huntsville, AL
Tami Fitzgerald West Muskingum High School Zanesville, OH
Debra Liberman George Washington High School Philadelphia, PA
Judy Ritter North Springs High School Roswell, GA
Brian Rodriquez Encinal High School Alameda, CA
Melissa Tobin Methuen High School Methuen, MA
Mark Vondracek Evanston Township High School Gurnee, IL


2011 Educator of the Year James Carmicle Hollywood High School Los Angeles, CA

Claes Nobel Educators of the Year

  • Susan New

  • Brian MacDonald

  • Judy Ritter

  • James Carmicle

  • Teresita Lemus

  • Patricia Wilson

Our Partners